# Inactivate User and Their Study Assignments

Source: https://sites.veevavault.help/gr/sitevault/sv-administration/mon-inactivate/

**Who can complete this task?**
- Administrators

Users are in the Active state when created or added to your site. If a user leaves your site and no longer needs to be active in the system, you can fully inactivate the user and their Study Assignments.

**Note:** Before inactivating a user, ensure all their assigned tasks in active workflows are canceled or reassigned, as SiteVault does not automatically unassign tasks from inactive users.

1. Access **Administration \> Monitors & External Users**.
2. Select the user to update.
3. Select **View Monitor Details**.
4. Select **Change State to Inactive** from the Actions menu.
5. Review the impact statement and select **Continue** to confirm your intent. This process may take a few minutes to complete.

If you need to reactivate the user, complete the steps to [Create a Monitor or External User](/gr/sitevault/sv-administration/mon-create/).
