# File Document to SiteVault

Source: https://sites.veevavault.help/gr/siteconnect/safety-distribution/sd-file-to-sv/

When you receive a safety document, it is automatically filed to the connected SiteVault as a new document version. You may need to refresh your browser for this action to take place. However, you can also manually file single or multiple documents to SiteVault as needed.

To file a single document to SiteVault:

1. In the **Safety Distribution \> Unread Documents** or **All Documents** tab, click the **File document to SiteVault** icon in the document’s row.
2. Click **Continue** in the **File document to SiteVault** dialog. If successful, the document is created in your connected SiteVault with the new document version.

To bulk file documents to SiteVault:

1. In the **Safety Distribution \> Unread Documents** or **All Documents** tab, select each document you want to file to your connected SiteVault.
2. Click **Actions \> File to SiteVault**.
3. Click **Continue** in the File document to SiteVault dialog.

This action sends documents to your connected SiteVault and creates them as new document versions with the appropriate SiteVault document type. The version is created based on the order you file the document to SiteVault regardless of the document version in **Site Connect \> Site Home**. For example, if a document has three versions, and you file version 3, version 1, and version 2 in that order, SiteVault then creates a document with version 2 as the latest, then version 1, and then version 3. The _Last Filed to SiteVault_ field will update each time the new document version is created in SiteVault.

**Note:** If the document version already exists in your SiteVault as the latest version of the document, the action fails.
