# File Document to SiteVault

Source: https://sites.veevavault.help/gr/siteconnect/document-exchange/de-file-doc-sv/

## Overview

This action sends documents to your connected SiteVault and creates them as new document versions with the appropriate SiteVault document type.

## Automatically File Documents to SiteVault

SiteVault allows you to automate the filing of documents from Site Connect’s Document Exchange directly into your SiteVault Study eBinder. By choosing to automate document filing, you reduce the need for manual downloads, ensuring that important study documents are available in your eISF as soon as they are pushed from your sponsor or CRO’s Vault. For more information, see [Site Connect Auto Filing](/gr/sitevault/studies/sc-autofile/) in SiteVault Help.

### Versions

The version is created based on the order you file the document to SiteVault regardless of the document version in **Site Connect \> Site Home**.

For example, if a document has three versions, and you file version 3, version 1, and version 2 in that order, SiteVault then creates a document with version 3, then version 1, and then version 2 as the latest version. If multiple documents exist in a row, this action files the documents in order from the earliest to the latest version.

Vault displays a warning if you attempt to file a document more than once. However, Vault does not prevent you from filing the same document version multiple times. The _Last Filed to SiteVault_ field in the _Documents_ grid will update each time a new document version is created in SiteVault.

### Duplicate Document Detection

Selecting the **File to SiteVault** action from a document will initiate a review of existing documents. If a duplicate version is detected, the system will present a confirmation dialog, providing you with information about the existing document in SiteVault. You can choose to cancel the filing to avoid creating a duplicate or proceed with filing the document to SiteVault. In instances where documents are filed to SiteVault in bulk, duplicate versions will not be filed if detected.

### Restricted (Unblinded) Documents

When filing to SiteVault, documents marked as Restricted (unblinded) are filed in SiteVault as Restricted.

A user with Restricted access in Site Connect only can file restricted documents to SiteVault, but cannot view the documents in SiteVault unless SiteVault Restricted access is granted. For more information on Restricted documents and their permissions, see [Restricted Documents](/gr/siteconnect/document-exchange/restricted/).

## File a Single Document to SiteVault

1. In the **Document Exchange \> Documents** tab, click the **File document to SiteVault** icon in the document’s row.
2. Click **Continue** on the **File document to SiteVault** dialog. If successful, the document is created in your connected SiteVault with the new document version.

## Bulk File Documents to SiteVault

1. In the **Document Exchange \> Documents** tab, select each document you want to file to your connected SiteVault.
2. Click **Actions \> File to SiteVault**.
3. Click **Continue** in the **File document to SiteVault** dialog.

Documents received from Sponsors with an _End of Study Media_ or _Completed CRF_ document type are automatically filed to SiteVault upon receipt. You may need to refresh your browser for this action to take place.

**Note:** If the document version already exists in your SiteVault as the latest version of the document, the action fails.
