Learn how to cancel an eConsent form that you sent to a participant.
Note Veeva eConsent may be provided by your sponsor for use on a Connected Study or enabled for your SiteVault account as a paid add-on to use across all studies. Contact the Site Success Team to learn more.
Canceling an eConsent Form
You can cancel an eConsent form if you send an incorrect eConsent form, send an eConsent form to the incorrect participant, or there was an incorrect phone number or email address for the patient or signatory in SiteVault. When you cancel an eConsent form, the form is canceled for all signatories, even if one or more of the signatories already completed the form.
Complete the following steps to cancel an eConsent form:
- Access the signed ICF that you want to cancel. You can do this in the Library or from the list of documents on the participant record.
- Select Cancel eConsent from the document’s All Actions menu. One of the following actions occur, depending on the history of the eConsent form you canceled:
- Placeholder ICF: If you cancel a placeholder ICF that the system created when you sent an ICF and the ICF hasn’t been signed by the participant, the placeholder ICF is deleted. If you later resend the same ICF, a new placeholder with a new document ID is created.
- Signed or Approved ICF: If you cancel an ICF that is not a placeholder (for example, an ICF that you resent after it was previously signed and approved by the participant and site staff), the minor version is deleted. If you later resend the ICF, a new minor version of the signed ICF is created and the version history omits the deleted version.